Grand Teton Mountains

The park's mountains are prime attractions and are very popular with climbers, hikers and photographers. The park's namesake mountain, called Grand Teton, rises to 13,770 feet above sea level. There are 12 peaks in the park that tower above 12,000 feet in elevation. Rising more than 7,000 feet above the valley of Jackson Hole, the Teton Range dominates the park's skyline.

Grand Tetons

Some of the park's major peaks include:

Grand Teton: 13,770 ft
Mount Owen: 12,928 ft
Middle Teton: 12,804 ft
Mount Moran: 12,605 ft
South Teton: 12,514 ft
Teewinot: 12,325 ft
Cloudveil Dome: 12,026 ft

The Tetons were created by what is known as fault-block mountain formation. When the earth's crust cracked along a fault millions of years ago, the mountains were pushed into the sky. The exposed crystalline rocks give these mountains their dramatic appearance.

While the Teton peaks are serious destination for climbers and mountaineers, they also attract more casual backpackers and hikers. Some of the iconic photos of these mountains were taken from near paved roads. The Jenny Lake area offers spectacular views of the jagged peaks. Whether you want to auto tour, hike, or participate in serious climbing and mountaineering, these peaks rank among the most popular in the US.

Back to top Print this page E-mail this page