University of Utah

The University of Utah, the state's flagship institution of higher education, was founded on February 28, 1850. Today, the University of Utah (known as the "U"), graduates more than 5,000 students each year with baccalaureate and graduate degrees.

The beautiful campus of the U, nestled in the foothills of the Wasatch Mountains, is located in Salt Lake City. The campus enrolls more than 26,000 students - a diverse group that comes from all 29 Utah counties, all 50 states, and 102 foreign countries. The U offers 75 undergraduate degree programs, along with more than 50 teaching majors and minors, and 96 graduate majors.

The University of Utah was the official site of the 2002 Olympic and Paralympic Villages, and is the home of Rice-Eccles Olympic Stadium.

The U offers outstanding programs in engineering, business, and the fine arts, among others; its law and medical schools are ranked in the top 50 nationwide (according to U.S. News and World Report). The University is ranked among the top 35 research institutions in the nation, according to the National Science Foundation. Cutting-edge research and care are offered through the Huntsman Cancer Institute and the Eccles Institute for Human Genetics. University Hospital serves as a clinical training ground for more than 1,000 students, and the John A. Moran Eye Center is the largest eye-care and vision-research center between the Mississippi River and the West Coast.

The University of Utah's athletics program has 10 women's teams and nine men's teams in the Mountain West Conference in NCAA Division 1. U athletes have earned 75 national championships (team and individual) and 56 conference team championships since 1983. The men's basketball, women's basketball, and women's gymnastics teams play at the Jon M. Huntsman Center, while the football team makes its home at Rice-Eccles Stadium.

Recently Visited